Filing is closed: Here are the candidates on local ballots

ELECTION 2020 DLPF web graphic

Candidate filing closed Tuesday, June 2, for the Minnesota Primary Election Aug. 11. No-excuse absentee voting by mail or in person is open June 26 through Aug. 10.

Becker County Board

Of the three Becker County commissioners up for reelection this year, only Barry Nelson is running unopposed.

In District 3, incumbent John Okeson will face Terry L. Mackner. In District 4, incumbent Donald Skarie will go up against Richard Vareberg.

Conservation district board

Three seats are up for election on the Becker Soil and Water Conservation District Board, and one person filed for each of them: Anthony “Tony” Beck in District 5, Michelle Andresen in District 2, and Travis Schauer in District 3.

State Legislature

  • House District 4B: DFLer Paul Marquart of Dilworth will face Republican challenger Brian Anderson of Detroit Lakes.
  • House District 2B (includes most of Becker County): Republican incumbent Steve Green of Fosston will face DFL challenger David Suby of rural Detroit Lakes.
  • Senate District 2 (includes most of Becker County): Republican incumbent Paul Utke of Park Rapids has filed, as has DFL-endorsed challenger Leonard Alan Roy of rural Ogema (the current White Earth secretary-treasurer).
  • Senate District 4 (which includes Detroit Lakes): DFL incumbent Kent Eken will face Republican challenger Mark Hanson, Hawley.
  • Senate District 8 (includes most of Otter Tail County): Republican incumbent Bill Ingebrigtsen will face DFL challenger Michele Anderson of Fergus Falls.
  • House District 2A (includes most of Hubbard, Beltrami and Lake of the Woods counties): Republican Mathew J. Grossell of Clearbrook will face DFLer Jeremiah Liend of Turtle River.
  • House District 4A (Moorhead): Republican Edwin Hahn and DFLer Heather Keeler have both filed. DFL incumbent Ben Lien is not running for reelection.

U.S. Congress

Eleven people have filed for U.S. House in Congressional District 7, including DFL-endorsed incumbent Collin Peterson of Detroit Lakes and Republican-endorsed challenger Michelle Fischbach of Paynesville.


In all, there are five Republicans, three Democrats, two candidates from the Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis Party, and one from the Legal Marijuana Now Party on the ballot.

What To Read Next
Get Local