Weather Forecast


City council, school board races shape up

Now is the time to file for city council and school board to get on the Nov. 6 general election ballot.

Filing opened Tuesday, July 31 and closes at 5 p.m. on Aug. 14. You can file at local city office or school district headquarters. If there are multiple candidates, the top vote-getters in the general election are the winners.

Six people have filed so far for Detroit Lakes City Council, and a smattering of candidates have stepped forward in other area school and city races.

In Detroit Lakes, Beth Pridday and John Thorpe have filed for the alderman-at-large positions; incumbent Jay Schurman and challenger Rick Johnson have filed in Ward 2; Matt Boeke has filed for reelection in Ward 3; and Dan Wenner is running for reelection in Ward 1.

Seats up for election on the Detroit Lakes City Council include those currently held by: Dan Wenner (Ward 1); Barb Voss (alderman at large); Madalyn Sukke (alderman at large); Jay Schurman (Ward 2); and Matt Boeke (Ward 3).

In Frazee, two people have filed for the mayor's position, Mark Flemmer and Ken Miosek. Mayor Hank Ludtke is not running for reelection.

Three Frazee city council positions are up for election this year, currently held by Mayor Hank Ludtke and council members Ken Miosek and Bonnie Julius.

Nobody has filed yet for Lake Park City Council: Seats held by city council members John Warling and Dan Aune are up for election.

In Audubon, three city council seats are up for election this year, held by

Mayor Tony Gordon and council members Carol Bergerson and Tiffaney Holm.

In Vergas, seats up for election are currently held by Mayor Dean Haarstick and council members Scott Goodman and Keith Bunkowske.

In Callaway, Mayor Gretchen Stalboerger's seat is up for election, along with two regular council seats held by Cliff Bryngelson and Julie Molacek. Also on the ballot will be a special election seat to fill a vacancy, currently held by Ken Blattenbauer.

In Ogema, the city treasurer position is up for a four-year-term, the city clerk position is up for a two-year term and two city council positions will be on the ballot, both for four-year terms.

School board seats

No information was available Tuesday on filing for the Detroit Lakes School Board. Members whose seats are up for election this year are Brenda Muckenhirn, David Langworthy and Kylie Johnson.

David O'Connell of Lake Park has filed for reelection to the Lake Park-Audubon School Board. Other members whose seats are up for election this year are: Skye Bjerke and Marv Vareberg, for four-year terms, and Mande North and Bryan Wetli for two-year terms.

Stacy Cruz has filed for reelection to the Frazee-Vergas School Board. Other members up for election this year are Matt Bauer, Burl Buhr, and Darrin Ovsak.

Nobody has yet filed for the Ogema-Waubun-White Earth School Board. Members up for election this year are Christie Haverkamp, chairperson; Stacy Bly, clerk; and directors Jon Syverson and Mark Rothschadl.