Weather Forecast


Winners in LP-A, Frazee-Vergas, other area races

Becker County residents were fired up to vote this year: The county saw a nearly 77 percent voter turnout for the midterm election.

In local election news:

- In Lake Park-Audubon, five people were elected to the school board: Marvin Vareberg received just over 20 percent of the vote, or 1,257 votes, Skye Bjerke got 20 percent (1,255 votes), as did Becky Mitchell (1,253 votes), and David O’Connell received 16 percent (984 votes).

Bryan Wetli missed the cut with 13 percent of the vote, as did Christopher J. Skjold with 11 percent.

Marge Beaudine also won a seat on the LP-A school board running unopposed in a special election.

- In the Frazee-Vergas School Board race, the winners were Matt Bauer (with 24 percent, or 1,938 votes), Daneele Shipman (22 percent), Nathan Allen Matejka (20 percent), and Kimberly Antonsen (20 percent). Stacy Cruz missed the cut with 13 percent of the vote.

- Callaway Mayor Gretchen Stalboerger defeated challenger Ricky Smith 65 percent to 35 percent, or 43 votes to 23 votes.

Julie Molacek, Cliff Bryngelson and Kenneth Blattenbauer Sr. were elected to the Callaway City Council.

- Ken Miosek was elected mayor of Frazee. He defeated Mark Flemmer 52 percent to 46 percent, or 230 votes to 203 votes.

Mark Kemper (with 36 percent, or 279 votes) and Nicole Strand (24 percent) were elected to the Frazee City Council. Falling short were Bonita Julius, who came in third with 23 percent and Kerry Strand, who received 16 percent of the vote.

- In Lake Park, Dan Aune, John Paul Beaudine and Jon Nelson were elected to the city council.

- In Ogema, Susan Baker, Tim Savior and Bradley Riggle were elected to the city council. Mary Vasecka was elected treasurer.

A proposal to make the Ogema clerk-treasurer a combined, appointed position was defeated 20 votes to 18 votes. The city will continue with an elected clerk and elected treasurer.

- All four candidates on the ballot were elected in the Waubun-Ogema-White Earth School Board race: Derek Hoban received 27 percent, or 785 votes, Christie Haverkamp got 26 percent, Vikki (Zima) Bevins received 24 percent and Nick McArthur received 22 percent.

- In Ulen-Hitterdal, all four people on the ballot were elected to the school board: Laura Tweten with 26 percent of the vote, Jennie Wibe-Bjerke with 27 percent, Jeffrey M. Bates with 25 percent and Donna Jacob with 21 percent.

- Becker County voters showed up big for gubernatorial candidate Jeff Johnson, a Republican and Detroit Lakes native, giving his ticket 60 percent of the vote. DFLer Tim Walz, who won the statewide race for governor, got just 37 percent of the vote in Becker County.

In other statewide races, for attorney general, state auditor and secretary of state, the Republican candidates won in Becker County by roughly a 59 percent to 36 percent ratio, but lost their overall races.

- In the only contested race in this year’s Minnesota Supreme Court race, incumbent Justice Margaret Chutich defeated repeat challenger Michelle MacDonald, 56 percent to 44 percent. Chutich won the Becker County vote 52-48 percent.

Minnesota Appeals Court incumbent Lucinda Ellen Jesson defeated St. Paul attorney Anthony L. Brown, 63 percent to 37 percent. She won the Becker County vote 60-40 percent.

Running unopposed, these candidates were also elected Tuesday: District Judge Gretchen Thilmony of Detroit Lakes, Becker County commissioners Larry Knutson and Ben Grimsley, County Attorney Brian McDonald, Auditor-Treasurer Mary Hendrickson, Recorder Patricia Swenson, and Becker Soil and Water Conservation District supervisors Jerome Flottemesch and Eugene Pavelko.