Former White Earth Secretary-Treasurer Tara Mason and her predecessor, Robert Durant, are among 15 candidates running for tribal chairperson in a special primary election June 4.

The White Earth Tribal Council certified the candidates and released the names Wednesday. The winner will serve out the remaining term of Chairman Terry Tibbetts, who passed away from an on-going illness on March 17. Tibbetts was elected to a four-year term in 2016.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

The certified candidates, in the order released by the tribe, are:

Eugene Glenn Sommers, David Eugene Greene, Michael Earl Thompson, Michael Allen Fairbanks, Teresa Lona St. Clair, Rae Ann Smith, Lainey Darline Fineday, Clifford William Crowell, Leigh Anna Harper, Patricia Ann Moran, Brent David Gish, Robert Jon Durant, Tara Renee Mason, Ronald Lee Fairbanks, and Sandra Marie St. Clair.

The tribe also released the polling locations on the White Earth Reservation, and in Cass Lake and Minneapolis.

To vote in a White Earth election, you must be at least 18 years old and be an enrolled tribal member. Polls will open at 8 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. Absentee voting is allowed.

District I polling locations

Bejou - Community Center, Main Street, Bejou.

Beaulieu - Lenore Moran Residence, 2250 210th Street, Mahnomen.

Pine Bend - Robin Ankeny Residence, 1330 320th Avenue, Lengby.

Rice Lake - Community Center, County Road 35, Rice Lake Village.

District II:

Mahnomen - Old Tribal College Library, Main Street, Mahnomen. Naytahwaush-Old Community Center, Second Avenue, Naytahwaush. Waubun - Community Center, 1004 Central Ave., Waubun.

District III:

Callaway - Community Center, Highway 59, Callaway.

Ogema - VFW Hall, Main Street East, Ogema.

White Earth - Community Center, Martin Drive, White Earth.

Elbow Lake - Elderly Nutrition Center, Little Elbow Lake Village.

Pine Point - Elderly Nutrition Center, Pine Point Village.

Cass Lake:

Leech Lake Facility Center, 16126 John Moose Drive, Cass Lake.


Indian Center, 1530 E. Franklin Avenue, Minneapolis.