Thinking about running for your local city council or school board this fall? Now is the time to declare your intention to get on the 2020 general election ballot, as the candidate filing period opens next Tuesday, July 28.

Candidates for any of the open council and school board seats may file at their respective city or school district offices anytime between 8 a.m. July 28 and 5 p.m. Aug. 11. Office hours and filing fees may vary slightly; call in advance for more information.

Area city council races

Six of the nine positions on the Detroit Lakes City Council will be up for grabs this November. The terms of Mayor Matt Brenk, Ward 1 Alderman Ron Zeman, Ward 2 Alderman Jamie Marks-Erickson, Ward 3 Alderman Dan Josephson and Alderman-At-Large Bruce Imholte are all set to expire on Dec. 31, while the seat vacated by Ward 2 Alderman Jay Schurman in April will also be up for election on Nov. 3.

Schurman's vacated seat will be open for a two-year term; all other openings are for four-year terms. Imholte has previously announced that he will not be seeking re-election in the fall.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Audubon: Four seats will be opening up on the City Council this fall, including those currently held by Mayor Tony Gordon (a two-year term), Councilman Brian Beto (four-year term) and Pastor Roy Noel (two-year term). Another four-year council position, which is currently vacant, will also be open.

Lake Park: There are three seats on the City Council that will be up for grabs, including those held by Mayor Keith Zachariason and Councilman Jon Anderson. The seat held by Aaron Wittrock, who was appointed to complete the term of Councilman Jon Nelson after Nelson resigned in June, will also be open. All three vacancies are for four-year terms.

Callaway: The seats held by Mayor Gretchen Stalboerger and council members Emily Annette and Ken Blattenbauer are up for election this year. The mayor's position is for a two-year term, while both council positions are for four years.

Frazee: The terms of council members Mark Flemmer and Mike Sharp are set to expire at the end of 2020. Both openings are for four-year terms.

Ogema: Three seats on the City Council will be up for election this year, including those currently held by Mayor Laurie Zima, City Clerk Brad Riggle and Councilwoman LaVerne Hoban. All three vacancies are for four-year terms.

Menahga: The seats currently held by Mayor Joannie Liimatta and council members Tim Ellingson and Karol Andreasen will be on the ballot for the November election. Both council seats are for four-year terms, while the mayor's post is for two years.

Wolf Lake: The positions held by Mayor Nathaniel Aho and council member Cassy Makela will be on the ballot, while in Vergas, there will be three openings, one for mayor (a two-year position) and two for seats on the council (four-year terms).

School board elections

Incumbent Detroit Lakes School Board members whose seats will be up for grabs on Nov. 3 include Chairwoman Amy Erickson, Vice Chairman John Steffl and Director Jane Foltz, who were each elected to four-year terms in 2016.

In Frazee-Vergas, the school board members whose terms are up in January include Treasurer Tammie Nunn and Director Thaddeus Helmers; the seat vacated by Steve Jepson's resignation earlier this year will also be filled as part of the November election.

In Lake Park-Audubon, the terms of board members Darrel Pederson, Mark Johnson and Margaret Beaudine are set to expire at the end of this year, while at Waubun-Ogema-White Earth, the terms of board members Terry Dorman, Allan Haugo and John Zima will come to a close in December as well.

Three Menahga School Board members will be elected to four-year terms in the November general election. These seats are currently held by Julia Kicker, Brad Goehrig and Bob White.