Comprehensive list of candidates elected by Perham-area voters

Election results can be found below.

Election Results 2022 graphic
We are part of The Trust Project.

NOTE: This article was made all-access as a public service. For more local news, consider subscribing to your local newspaper

PERHAM — The comprehensive list of the winning candidates found on a Perham voter's ballot can be found below. Statistics were collected from the Minnesota Secretary of State website .

Federal Offices

U.S. Representative District 7
Michelle Fischbach, representing the Republican party, is the U.S. representative of District 7.

State Offices

State Senator District 9
Republican Jordan Rasmusson was elected as the District 9 state senator with 62.74% of the votes. He was first elected to the Minnesota House in 2020 as the District 8A representative.

Rasmusson won his 2020 election with 66% of votes. His committee assignments in the House include Capital Investment, Commerce Finance and Policy, and Human Service Finance and Policy.


State Representative District 9B
Republican Tom Murphy was elected as the District 9B state representative with 70.29% of the votes. He is the owner and operator of MinStart Ag Products.

Murphy is township supervisor for Maine Township and sits on the Board of Directors for Park Region Telephone Company.

Murphy and his wife, Betty, moved to Otter Tail County in 1992 and have lived in Maine Township ever since.

State Auditor
Julie Blaha, representing the Democratic party, was elected as the Minnesota state auditor with 47.47% of the votes.

Attorney General
Democrat Keith Ellison was elected as the Minnesota attorney general with 50.37% of the votes.

Governor and Lieutenant Governor
Democrat Tim Walz was re-elected as the Minnesota Governor with Peggy Flanagan as lieutenant governor with 52.27% of the votes.

Secretary of State
Democrat Steve Simon was elected as the secretary of state with 54.53% of the votes.

County Offices

Otter Tail County Sheriff
Incumbent Otter Tail County Sheriff Barry Fitzgibbons was re-elected as the Otter Tail County sheriff in the 2022 election with 71.53% of the votes.


He was elected to his first term as sheriff in 2018.

Fitzgibbons started his law enforcement career 22 years ago as a deputy for the Otter Tail County Sheriff’s Office. Over those 22 years, he has served in supervisory roles and as part of the command staff. He also has 15 years of SWAT experience.

His opponent, Joey Geiszler, is a police officer with the Fergus Falls Police Department.

Barry Fitzgibbons
Perham Focus file photo

County Commissioner District 1
The Otter Tail County Commissioner District 1 saw Dan Bucholz win an uncontested race with 4,602 votes. There were 31 write-in votes.

County Commissioner District 2
In District 2, Incumbent Wayne Johnson won the race with 2,612 votes. Jeffery Gontarek collected 2,546 votes and there were 11 write-ins.

County Commissioner District 3
In District 3, Incumbent Kurt Mortenson had 4,088 votes, while Bradley Sunde had 1,707 votes. There were 13 write-in votes.

County Commissioner District 4
In District 4, Robert Lahman had 2,574 votes. He ousted Incumbent Betty Murphy, who collected 2,419. There were 13 write-in votes.

County Commissioner District 5
In District 5, Lee Rogness had 4,089 votes in an uncontested race. There were 72 write-in votes.


County Attorney
Michelle Marie Eldien, who ran uncontested, was elected as the county attorney.

Soil and Water Conservation Supervisors
Wayne Enger, who ran uncontested, is the soil and water conservation district supervisor in District 2 East. Lyle Dittmann, who also ran uncontested, is the soil and water conservation district supervisor in District 3 East.

City Offices

Perham City Council

Incumbent Mayor Timothy Meehl of the city of Perham was re-elected as mayor after running uncontested.

Fred Lehmkuhl and Brad Schmidt, two incumbent candidates, ran for the two open spots on the Perham City Council. Both were re-elected.

Perham School Board

The following four candidates were elected to the Perham School Board: Michael Hamann, DJ Altstadt, Justine Anderson and Nathan Rooney.

Mike Hamann.jpg
Michael Hamann
Contributed / Hamann Dentristry

Incumbent Michael Hamann earned 17.41% of the votes. He is a dentist and has been a resident of Perham for 48 years. He is a Vietnam War veteran and serves on several other boards including treasurer of the West Central Dental Society and is also a member of the Perham Area Chamber of Commerce.

He and his wife’s three children all attended school in the district and two of his grandchildren are current students. Hamann also coached the girls basketball team for many years.

He has served on the school board on and off during his time in Perham.

DJ Altstadt and his family
Contributed / DJ Altstadt

DJ Altstadt earned 18.46% of the votes. He is a commercial and industrial estimator at Esser and a 2009 Perham High School graduate.

Altstadt graduated from the University of Minnesota-Duluth with a mechanical engineering degree and eventually returned to the area with his wife.

Together they have a 4-year-old and 1 ½-year-old. Altstadt is also the treasurer for Perham Township.

Justine Anderson and her family
Contributed / Justine Anderson

Incumbent Justine Anderson earned 19.12% of the votes. She was originally elected to the board in 2018. Anderson is the chief financial officer at Perham Health, where she has worked for over 10 years.

Anderson and her husband have two sons enrolled in Perham Public Schools.

Incumbent Nathan Rooney earned 18.80% of the votes. He will also serve another term on the school board.

Kyle M. DeVoe and lifelong Perham educator John Rutten also ran for school board.

Detroit Lakes Tribune newsroom
What To Read Next
The sheriff’s office received a 911 call reporting the fatal crash at 4:55 p.m. Saturday on 72nd Street Southwest in Byron Township near Staples.
Dr. Allen Balay, an award-winning veterinarian from New London, believes a licensing process would raise quality of animal care and hopefully keep technicians in the career field.
Check the ice, dress in layers, and be patient
The need for the project dates back to 2016, when the Federal Emergency Management Agency designated the east side of Newfolden, Minnesota, as lying within the 100-year floodplain