Weather Forecast


Smith, Huskers to battle for Big Ten Championship

Kate Smith and the Nebraska womens' golf team will be competing for the Big Ten Conference championship at the TPC River's Bend golf club in Maineville, Ohio April 20-22. Robert Williams / Tribune

The Nebraska women’s golf team travels to the Cincinnati area to compete in the 2018 Big Ten Championship at TPC River’s Bend, April 20-22.

A strong 14-team Big Ten field will compete on the par-72, 6,357-yard layout at TPC River’s Bend, beginning with tee times off No. 1 and No. 10 on Friday, April 20 at 7:30 a.m. (CT).

Action will continue with the second round on Saturday before concluding with the final round on Sunday, April 22 at 7 a.m. (CT). Live scoring for the entire tournament will be available at

Tape-delayed coverage of the championship will be provided by the Big Ten Network on Monday, April 30 at 4 p.m. (CT).

A six-player Nebraska lineup will compete in the six-count-four format of the tournament as one of 13 Big Ten women’s golf teams ranked among the nation’s top 100. Six of the conference teams are ranked among the nation’s top 50 in the current GolfStat/Sagarin ratings, led by No. 10 Northwestern and No. 11 Michigan State.

The Huskers will hit the course after taking nearly four weeks off from competition. Nebraska’s last tournament came at the Mountain View Invitational in Tucson, Ariz., March 23-25.

Senior Audrey Judd (Olathe, Kan.) and sophomore Kate Smith (Detroit Lakes, Minn.) lead the Big Red to the Big Ten Championship. Judd owns Nebraska’s top stroke average (73.61) on the season while producing five top-25 finishes on the season. Smith carries a 73.77 stroke average into the tournament with six top-25 showings this season, including three consecutive top-15 finishes this spring.

Sophomore Annie Sritragul (75.62), freshman Noor Ahmed (76.62) and sisters Haley Thiele (78.52) and Hannah Thiele (79.58) round out Nebraska’s contingent at the Big Ten Championship. The Huskers will be gunning for their best Big Ten finish since taking sixth in 2011-12.

Big Ten Championship

Maineville, Ohio 

TPC River's Bend Golf Club 

(Par 72, 6,357 Yards)

Round 1 - Friday, April 20, 7:30 a.m. (CT) - Tee Times (#1 & #10)

Round 2 - Saturday, April 21, 7:30 a.m. (CT) - Tee Times (#1 & #10)

Round 3 - Sunday, April 22, 7 a.m. (CT) - Tee Times (#1 & #10)

Live Scoring:

Television (Tape-Delayed): Big Ten Network [April 30, 4 p.m. (CT)]

Big Ten Championship Field (14 Teams)

Northwestern (10)

Michigan State (11)

Illinois (22)

Purdue (31)

Wisconsin (37)

Ohio State (46)

Indiana (62)

Penn State (67)

Maryland (70)

Michigan (76)

Nebraska (91)

Minnesota (99)

Iowa (100)

Rutgers (117)

Nebraska Lineup (6-count-4)

1. Kate Smith (So., Detroit Lakes, Minnesota)

2. Audrey Judd (Sr., Olathe, Kansas)

3. Annie Sritragul (So., Bangkok, Thailand)

4. Noor Ahmed (Fr., Folsom, California)

5. Haley Thiele (So., Wahoo, Nebraska)

6. Hannah Thiele (So., Wahoo, Nebraska)

Robert Williams

Sports Editor at the Detroit Lakes Tribune. Williams worked prior as the Sports Editor in Perham for the Focus, a Forum Communications newspaper, from 2010-14. 

(218) 844-1442