Weather Forecast


Six area wrestlers fall in state wrestling finals

Tanner Reetz made a third trip to the finals but was defeated 4-3 in the championship match by Sibley East's Tanner Pasvogel. Mike Vosburg/Forum News Service

No wrestler had beaten Frazee senior Tanner Reetz all season. Sibley East's Tanner Pasvogel changed that in the Minnesota state tournament at Xcel Energy Center on Saturday, March 5.

Reetz never really got comfortable, trailing the entire match, eventually losing 4-3 in the Class 1A finals at 132 pounds. Reetz capped his career with three straight trips to the championship mat, winning a title as a sophomore.


Park Rapids Area sophomore Ashton Clark was hoping to follow in the footsteps of 2004 Park Rapids graduate Tyler Safratowich, who won three straight titles in 2002, 2003 and 2004. Clark needed No. 1 on Saturday, but the top-ranked wrestler at 106 pounds in Class 1A fell 3-0 to No. 2-ranked Blake Legred, of United South Central.

Frazee junior Tanner Schermerhorn made his first trip to the championship mat, losing 11-6 to undefeated Pipestone Area wrestler Hunter Burnett. West Central Area-Ashby-Brandon-Evansville senior Jake Nohre suffered the same fate to a Pipestone wrestler, as Michael Suda beat Nohre 17-4 in the Class 1A finals at 126 pounds. Kenyon-Wanamingo's Tyler Ryan held off WCA-A-B-E's Keaton Long in the Class 1A finals at 152 pounds 10-6.

Barnesville's Bradey Berg took top-ranked Trent Esping, of Minneota, to overtime, but Esping ended it with a takedown and a 3-1 Class 1A state championship at 285 pounds.

Chris Murphy

Chris Murphy is a sports reporter for the Forum. He's covered high school and college sports in Chicago, North Dakota and Minnesota since 2009 and, for some reason, has been given awards for doing so.

(701) 241-5548