Both Detroit Lakes soccer teams announced end of the season awards and next year’s captains recently.

The DL girls finished the year 12-4-3 with a trip to the Section 8A semifinals.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Seniors Payton Carlblom, Matteya Borah, junior Anna Jones and freshman Sasha Sekundiak were named to the Lakes to Prairie All-Conference team. Seniors Greta Peterick and Ava Steinmetz received honorable mention.

Jones and fellow juniors Grace Van Offelen and Lindsey Moen were named team captains for 2019-20.

 Garrett Bakken, Cole Metelak, Jackson Carlblom, Kyle Miller.
Garrett Bakken, Cole Metelak, Jackson Carlblom, Kyle Miller.

Senior co-captains Cole Metelak and Jackson Carlblom, along with junior Garrett Bakken earned all-conference honors for the boys team. Senior Kyle Miller was awarded honorable mention.

The boys team went 7-9-1 overall and earned a Section 8A quarterfinal berth before being knocked out by eventual Class A state runners-up Bemidji.

Juniors Ben Heimark, Tyler Wirtz and Bakken will captain next year’s team.


Girls Awards:


Most Improved Player: Annie Paulson

Most Valuable Player: Payton Carlblom

Most Valuable Attack: Karrigan Hallisey

Most Valuable Midfielder: Anna Jones

Most Valuable Defender: Sasha Sekundiak

Top Gun: Anna Jones

Team Spirit: Elle Seaberg

True Grit: Maddy Bowers

All Conference: Payton Carlblom, Anna Jones, Matteya Borah, Sasha Sekundiak

Honorable Mention: Greta Peterick, Ava Steinmetz

2019 Captains: Grace Van Offelen, Lindsey Moen, Anna Jones  


Most Improved Player: Katelyn Grossman

Most Valuable Player: Alexandria Bettcher

Most Valuable Attack: Halli Pavek

Most Valuable Midfielder: Emma Coley

Most Valuable Defender: Tosha Noel

Team Spirit: Elini Schmitz


Most Improved Player: Makaden Anderson

Most Valuable Player: Ellie Bettcher

Most Valuable Attack: Rileigh Seim

Most Valuable Midfielder: Baylee Branden

Most Valuable Defender: Stella Rhodes

Team Spirit: Emily Lawrence

Boys Awards:

Rookie of the year: Caden Reep

Most improved player: Lucas Schwan

Laker Pride: Tyler Burnside

Most Determined: Carter Savig

Golden Ball: Cole Metelak

All Conference: Cole Metelak, Jackson Carlblom, Garrett Bakken

Honorable Mention: Kyle Miller

2019 Captains: Ben Heimark, Garrett Bakken, Tyler Wirtz