Bettcher, Tangen named to Mid-State all-conference girls basketball team

Alex Bettcher, Sarah Tangen, Jacee Hauser, Abby Larson earn all-conference awards.

Senior Sarah Tangen, a St. Olaf basketball commit, drives the paint in a home victory over Alexandria Tuesday, Feb. 16, 2021 at Ralph Anderson Gymnasium. Robert Williams / Tribune

Junior forward Alex Bettcher and senior guard and captain Sarah Tangen were named to the Mid-State girls basketball all-conference team. Detroit Lakes head coach Rachel Johnson announced the distinctions, along with team awards after the team’s season-ending banquet.

Sophomore forward Jacee Hauser, Johnson’s most improved player, and fellow sophomore guard Abby Larson, both earned honorable mention.

MSGBB 2.jpg
Alex Bettcher was named to the 2020-21 Mid-State all-conference girls basketball team with senior captain Sarah Tangen. Robert Williams / Tribune

Bettcher was the team’s offensive MVP; senior Maddy Bowers earned the award on the defensive end.


Senior Ava Gilbert was the outstanding team member and Kate Stearns received the coaches award.

Detroit Lakes graduates four seniors: Gilbert, Bowers, Tangen, and Kylee Price.

Tori Oehrlein of Crosby-Ironton was named the Mid-State’s most valuable player. Oehrlein averaged 21.4 points, 10.4 rebounds and 7.3 assists a game, according to the Brainerd Dispatch.

Mid-State All-Conference Girls Basketball Team


Ally Ehnstrom - Aitkin, Karli Nixon, Tori Oehrlein - Crosby-Ironton; Sarah Tangen, Alex Bettcher - Detroit Lakes; Tori Weaver - Park Rapids; Maci Martini, Kelsi Martini, Isabel Larson - Pequot Lakes; Haley Chicos - Staples-Motley.


Honorable Mention

Teagan Peicek - Aitkin; Jacey Rydberg, Kalli Pappenfuss - Crosby-Ironton; Jacee Hauser, Abby Larson - Detroit Lakes; Olivia Davis, Abby Morris - Park Rapids; Afton Crocker, Lauren Schultz - Pequot Lakes; Tabatha Allen - Staples-Motley.

Most Valuable Player - Tori Oehrlein - Crosby-Ironton

Detroit Lakes team awards

Varsity (Head Coach Rachel Johnson)

MGBCA Academic All-State: Maddy Bowers, Ava Gilbert, Sarah Tangen.

All-State Team Gold award (3.83 cumulative GPA)


Offensive MVP: Alex Bettcher

Defensive MVP: Maddy Bowers

Outstanding team member: Ava Gilbert

Coaches award: Kate Stearns

Most improved: Jacee Hauser

Junior Varsity (Coach Dave Hutchinson, Manager Daisy Hendrickson)

Offensive MVP: Ellie Lunde


Defensive MVP: Helena Daggett

Outstanding team member: Olivia Clark-Burnette

Coaches award: Shayla Stattelman

Most improved: Ellie Steffl

C-Team (Coach Kris Swenson, Manager Mia Hanson)

Offensive MVP: Ella Okeson

Defensive MVP: Elle Bettcher


Outstanding team member: Ella Bommersbach

Coaches award: Sidney Borgmann

Most improved: Brooklyn Markuson

Read more stories by Robert Williams here .

Robert Williams has been a sports editor for Forum Communications in Perham and Detroit Lakes since 2011.
What To Read Next
Get Local