Weather Forecast


Eleven finalists announced for 2018 Mr. Football award

The Elite Eleven finalists for the 2018 Mr. Football Award have been announced by the Minnesota Football Coaches Association (MFCA).

The Mr. Football Award is sponsored by the Minnesota Football Coaches Association (MFCA) and the Minnesota Vikings.

The Mr. Football Award was first presented in 2004, with the first winner being Nick Mertens of East Grand Forks High School. The 2017 Mr. Football Award winner was Antonio Montero, Eden Prairie.

The 2018 Mr. Football Award will be presented at the Mr. Football Banquet on Sunday, December 16th (9:00 AM) at the Doubletree by Hilton Minneapolis Park Place Hotel (hotel address: 1500 Park Place Blvd., Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55416).

The 11 finalists for the 2018 Mr. Football Award (in alphabetical order) are:

(Name, School, Position, Sub-District, Class)

Bryce Benhart, Lakeville North, OL, Metro South,6A

Matt Cavanaugh, Edina, LB/RB/P/K, Metro West, 6A

Alex Folz, Spring Grove, QB/S/P/K, 9 - South East, 9-Man

Nick McCabe, Caledonia, RB/LB, Southeast White, 2A

Cade Plath, Chanhassen, LB/FB, Suburban White, 5A

David Roddy, Breck, QB/DE/P, Twin City Red, 3A

Luke Ryan,  BOLD, WR/DB/K/P, Mid State 2, 1A

Treyton Welch, Buffalo, WR/LB, North Central Blue, 6A

Brandon Westberg, Cambridge-Isanti, OL, North Central Blue, 5A

Jason Williamson, Owatonna, RB/FS, Big Southeast Red, 5A

Cole Woodford, Redwood Valley, WR/DB/R/K, South Central White, 2A

Mr. Football Award Criteria:

Nominee must be a graduating senior.

Nominee’s Head Coach must be a current member of the MFCA.

Nominee must not have any MSHSL violations.

Each player must be nominated by their Sub-District/MFCA representative, after being selected by the coaches in each Sub-district.

Previous winners of the Mr. Football Award:

2017 - Antonio Montero, Eden Prairie

2016 - Wade Sullivan, Lakeville North

2015 - J.D. Spielman, Eden Prairie

2014 - Robbie Grimsley, Hutchinson

2013 - Jeffrey Jones, Minneapolis Washburn

2012 - Bridgeport Tusler, Osseo

2011 - Philip Nelson, Mankato West

2010 - Peter Westerhaus, Holy Family Catholic

2009 - Zach Vraa, Rosemount

2008 - Varmah Sonie, Apple Valley

2007 - Michael Floyd, Cretin-Derham Hall

2006 - Blake Sorensen, Eden Prairie

2005 - Matt Carufel, Cretin-Derham Hall

2004 - Nick Mertens, East Grand Forks

Robert Williams

Sports Editor at the Detroit Lakes Tribune. Williams worked prior as the Sports Editor in Perham for the Focus, a Forum Communications newspaper, from 2010-14. 

(218) 844-1442