Weather Forecast


First day of 86th Pine to Palm in the books

Defending Mid-Am champion Perry Piatz got a warm-up round in as the top seed Monday, August 6 while the remainder field battled to contend for his title in match play later in the week as the 86th Pine to Palm golf tournament got into full swing at Detroit Country Club. Robert Williams / Tribune

The 86th Pine to Palm golf tournament got underway Monday, August 6 in perfect weather conditions for the first of two rounds of qualifying in Mid-Am and the lone qualifying round for Seniors and Super Seniors.

For the first time in a few years, all four defending champions are back in the fields: Doug Gillam in Supers, Dan Ystebo in Seniors, Perry Piatz in Mid-Am and Chris Swenson in the championship tournament.

Don Bradford of Venice, Florida was the leader in the clubhouse in the Super Seniors division Monday with a two-over-par score of 73. Lake Park’s Bob Jamison and six-time champion Chuck Renner finished a stroke back at 74.


There are 10 golfers remaining to tee off on Tuesday to complete the race for the top 15 qualifying positions for match play. The defending champion is automatically entered as the top seed.

In Seniors play, 50 of the scheduled 78 players shot rounds on Monday.


AJ Greff, the 2016 champion, leads after a round of two-under 69, one shot better than Fargo’s Kent Spriggs, Moorhead’s Craig Stein and local golfer Dan Drenth. Five golfers are tied in eighth place with matching scores of 75 that could be on the bubble at the completion of qualifying Wednesday.

Fargo’s Dan Ystebo is the defending Seniors champion.

Only eight golfers will be left out of Mid-Am match play after the field of 24 narrows at the completion of the second round of qualifying Tuesday night.


Scott Uithoven of Belden, Mississippi shot one-under 70 to take the early lead. Uithoven was the 2016 Mid-Am champion.

Darren Haley of Bismarck and Ben Jurgens of Fergus Falls each shot one-over 72s to tie for second place. DL’s Aaron Burnside and Jason Justesen are next on the leaderboard after recording scores of 74 and 75, respectively.

Defending champion Perry Piatz was on the course Monday shooting a practice round.

The Mid-Am field could see a lot of movement in the back half of qualifying. The 10th and 24th place golfers are separated by only four strokes.

For full results and tee times visit

For updates from the course during play follow along on Twitter: @DLakesSports

86th Pine to Palm Championship Qualifying, Monday, Aug. 6

Mid-Am (full field - round one of two)

1 Perry Piatz Oxbow, ND Defending Champ

2 Scott Uithoven Belden, MS 70

3 Darren Haley Bismarck, ND 72

4 Ben Jurgens Fergus Falls 72

5 Aaron Burnside DL 74

6 Jason Justesen DL 75

7 Kevin Swenson Fergus Falls 76

8 Jay Bartley Fargo 77

9 Brady Opheim Fargo, ND 77

10 Frank Campbell Lake Elmo 78

11 Brian Halvorson Mayville, ND 78

12 Josh Hagelstrom Fargo, ND 79

13 Matthew Johnson West Fargo, ND 79

14 Jon Studsrud Fargo, ND 79

15 Todd Wawers Fargo, ND 79

16 Trevor Opheim Fargo, ND 79

17 Shawn Justesen Hawley 79

18 Paul Uithoven Bozeman, MT 80

19 Marty Fiala Fargo, ND 80

20 Eric King Marietta, GA 80

21 Michael Melhus Rogers 81

22 David Soutor Minnetonka 81

23 Chad Ransom Fargo, ND 81

24 Brian Mahoney Reiles Acres, ND 82

Seniors (Monday’s Top 16 - one qualifying round)

1 Dan Ystebo Fargo Defending Champ

2 AJ Greff San Tan Valley, AZ 69

3 Kent Spriggs Fargo 70

4 Craig Stein Moorhead 70

5 Dan Drenth DL 70

6 Bill Schommer Lakesville 72

7 Scott Linnerooth Fargo 72

8 Chuck Wiger Moorhead 73

9 George Strand Moorhead 75

10 Rick Johnson Moorhead 75

11 Brad Ericksen Eden Prairie 75

12 Lee Erickson Mandan, ND 75

13 Keith Aasen Bismarck, ND 75

14 Jay Olafson Fargo, ND 76

15 Neil Braaten Fargo, ND 77

16 Michael Seelye DL 77

Super Seniors  (Monday’s Top 16 - one qualifying round)

1 Doug Gillam DL Defending Champ

2 Don Bradford Venice, FL 73

3 Bob Jamison Lake Park 74

4 Chuck Renner Phoenix 74

5 Michael Howell West Fargo 75

6 David Andrisen Gilbert, AZ 75

7 Ronald Vincelli Spirit Lake, LA 76

8 Doug Gillund DL 78

9 John Hagge Fergus Falls 78

10 Dan Elton Moorhead 78

11 Pete Lysaker Waubun 80

12 Dr. Lynn Marr Fargo 80

13 Skip Madsen Solana Beach, CA 81

14 John Bartley Audubon 82

15 Clint Nelson Fargo 85

16 Terry Barnard Buckeye, AZ 85

Robert Williams

Sports Editor at the Detroit Lakes Tribune. Williams worked prior as the Sports Editor in Perham for the Focus, a Forum Communications newspaper, from 2010-14. 

(218) 844-1442