Weather Forecast


Greff has chance to repeat 2016 Seniors sweep

AJ Greff is looking to repeat a sweep of medalist and match play champion. He accomplished the feat in 2016 and was last year's runner-up. Robert Williams / Tribune

The top spot in Pine to Palm Seniors qualifying was up for grabs, but 2016 champion and last year’s runner-up AJ Greff posted a two-under par 69 to defeat three golfers by one stroke after the completion of all rounds Wednesday, Aug. 9.

Greff grabbed the No. 2 position in match play behind defending champion Dan Ystebo of Fargo. In 2016, Greff completed the sweep as medalist in his championship year and looks to repeat that effort again.

Detroit Lakes’ Dan Drenth, Moorhead’s Craig Stein and Fargo’s Kent Spriggs all finished a stroke back at one-under.


Spriggs is a two-time Mid-Am champion winning back-to-back titles in 2014-15. The Spriggs/Greff matchup stretches back to the 2012 Mid-Am championship - won by Greff.

The top eight golfers all finished within three shots. Gregg Western of Fergus shot a even par 71; Lakesville’s Bill Schommer and Fargo’s Scott Linnerooth, champion in 2012 and 2014, finished one-over.

With Chuck Wiger of Moorhead (73) and Jim Strandemo of Savage (74) nabbing the nine and 10 spots, the final six spots remained for seven golfers at 75 (+4) in a playoff: George Strand, Rick Johnson, Brad Ericksen, Lee Erickson, Keith Aasen, Mark Norman, and Dan Brekke.

The lone man out was Brekke and the playoff seeded out: Ericksen at No. 11; 12-Erickson; 13-Norman, 14-Aasen; 15-Strand and Johnson to face Ystebo from the 16-seed.

Aasen was the 2015 champ and 2016 runner-up. Johnson was the 2014 runner-up to Linnerooth. Stein was the 2013 runner-up to Tim Rubis. Strand was last season’s co-medalist.

Seniors will begin match play Thursday, Aug. 9 at 8:44 a.m.

Thursday’s matchups

Dan Ystebo (1) vs. Rick Johnson (16) Thu 8:44 (1)

Scott Linnerooth (8) vs. Chuck Wiger (9) Thu 8:52 (1)

Craig Stein (4) vs. Mark Norman (13) Thu 9:00 (1)

Dan Drenth (5) vs. Lee Erickson (12) Thu 9:08 (1)

AJ Greff (2) vs. George Strand (15) Thu 8:44 (1)

Bill Schommer (7) vs. Jim Strandemo (10) Thu 8:52 (1)

Kent Spriggs (3) vs. Keith Aasen (14) Thu 9:00 (1)

Gregg Western (6) vs. Brad Ericksen (11) Thu 9:08 (1)

Pine to Palm Seniors qualifying

1 Dan Ystebo Fargo Defending Champ

2 AJ Greff San Tan Valley, AZ 69

3 Kent Spriggs Fargo 70

4 Craig Stein Moorhead 70

5 Dan Drenth DL 70

6 Gregg Western Fergus Falls 71

7 Bill Schommer Lakesville 72

8 Scott Linnerooth Fargo 72

9 Chuck Wiger Moorhead 73

10 Jim Strandemo Savage 74

11 George Strand Moorhead 75

12 Rick Johnson Moorhead 75

13 Brad Ericksen Eden Prairie 75

14 Lee Erickson Mandan 75

15 Keith Aasen Bismarck 75

16 Mark Norman Chesterfield, MO 75

Robert Williams

Sports Editor at the Detroit Lakes Tribune. Williams worked prior as the Sports Editor in Perham for the Focus, a Forum Communications newspaper, from 2010-14. 

(218) 844-1442