Weather Forecast


Top four to battle for Seniors final

Kent Spriggs is a semifinal victory away from a first appearance in the Seniors finals after notching two career championship wins in Mid-Am. Robert Williams / Tribune

All four semifinalists have championship match experience as the top four seeds advanced Friday, Aug. 10 in the 86th Pine to Palm Seniors division.

Only one of the four quarterfinals was tightly contested as No. 10 Jim Strandemo, a three-time Pine to Palm champion in the 80’s, gave 2016 Seniors champion and last year’s runner-up AJ Greff all he could handle. The duo battled to extra holes with Greff coming out victorious to force a rematch of the 2012 Mid-Am championship with Kent Spriggs.

Strandemo was the lowest seed in the tournament at No. 10; No. 2 Greff was also this year’s medalist.


No. 3 Spriggs defeated No. 6 Gregg Western 4&3. Spriggs is aiming for a first mark in the finals in Seniors after three appearances and two wins in Mid-Am. Western is chasing a first championship appearance.

Last year’s winner Dan Ystebo and No. 4 Craig Stein got off the course and out of the heat early winning their matches handily.

Ystebo defeated this year’s John Rutledge Award recipient and the 2012 Seniors champion Scott Linnerooth 5&4.

The Rutledge is given annually to tournament contributors who have shown longevity, promotion of the tournament and the game of golf, service and sportsmanship.

Stein defeated Detroit Lakes’ lefty Dan Drenth 5&3 to set up the semifinal with the defending champion.

Senior semis tee at 2:02 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 11 with Ystebo and Stein off of hole No. 1; Greff and Spriggs begin their duel on No. 10.

Seniors quarterfinal results

1 Dan Ystebo (5&4) 8 Scott Linnerooth

4 Craig Stein (5&3) 5 Dan Drenth

2 AJ Greff 1-up 10 Jim Strandemo 

3 Kent Spriggs (4&3) 6 Gregg Western

Past Rutledge Award Winners

Year Recipient

2017 Vern Steinmetz

2016 Michael Ericksen

2015 Ron Smet

2014 Gordon & Nancy Grabow

2013 Duane Halverson

2012 Ron Vincelli

2011 Greg Potvin

2010 Jim Sinclair

2009 Dick McConn

2008 Steve Sundby

2007 Tom Hanson

2006 Bob Fiecthner

2005 Chuck & Karen Merry

2004 Pat Vincelli

2003 Willard "Red" Jacobson

2002 Jim Strandemo

2001 Jerry Hall

2000 Blanche & Jack Waryan

1999 Mark Ericksen Sr.

1998 Andy Lia

1997 Leo Eilertson

1996 Jim Linnerooth

1995 Baldy Waldahl

1994 Mary Lou Norby

1993 Nancy Rutledge

1992 Robert Dahm

1991 Bill Reid

1990 Bill Swanston

1989 Gene O'Brien

1988 Ralph Anderson

1987 Frank Winsor

1986 Jim Adelson

1985 Tuffy Nelson

1984 Howard Myhre

Robert Williams

Sports Editor at the Detroit Lakes Tribune. Williams worked prior as the Sports Editor in Perham for the Focus, a Forum Communications newspaper, from 2010-14. 

(218) 844-1442