Former head boys hockey coach Todd Dwyer announced season awards for the Lakers at the annual team banquet held Monday, March 11 at the Holiday Inn.

Dwyer announced his resignation to the team after the final game of the season in late February.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Detroit Lakes captured the Mid-State Conference championship by one-half game over Prairie Centre with a record of 6-0-1. It was the second consecutive Mid-State title for the Lakers and the fifth championship out of the last six seasons.

 Will Stowman, Hunter Burnside, Trey Seebold. Submitted photo
Will Stowman, Hunter Burnside, Trey Seebold. Submitted photo

The Lakers finished with an overall record of 17-7-2 and advanced to the Section 8A semifinals before losing to eventual section champions East Grand Forks 4-0. The Green Wave finished fourth at the Class A state tournament.

DL’s 17 victories were the most by a Laker team since 2014-15 (19-6-2) and the third time in the past decade the team has reached that many wins. The other being the 2013-14 season in a 17-8-1 campaign.

Five Lakers were named to the all-conference team: senior forwards Trey Seebold, Roland Cormier, and Will Stowman, along with junior defenseman Jackson Fields and sophomore defenseman Braeden Wimmer.

Seebold was the lone selection to the all-section team and was named the Lakers’ Hobey Baker award winner, DL’s annual award for character and sportsmanship. The senior captain was also selected as the team’s most valuable player.

Stowman was awarded as the hardest worker and junior center Hunter Burnside was selected as the team’s most improved player.