Jackson wins 152-pound championship at Big Bear

Laker senior Parker Jackson won the 152-pound championship to highlight the 15th place Detroit Lakes wrestling finish at the Big Bear tournament in Cass-Lake Bena over the weekend.

Laker senior Parker Jackson won the 152-pound championship to highlight the 15th place Detroit Lakes wrestling finish at the Big Bear tournament in Cass-Lake Bena over the weekend.

Heavyweight junior James Huwe was the runner-up at 285-pounds and freshman Braydon Ortloff placed 8th at 120-pounds.

The Lakers scored 78.5 points to place 15th in the team standings out of 36 participating schools.

Jackson improved to 12-0 with a 6-3 decision over over Nick Mergen of Albany. The loss was the first for Mergen this season (10-1).

Ranked No. 2 in Minnesota at 152, Jackson was the top seed in the bracket receiving a first round bye.


Jackson pinned Ben Beckers of BL in 3:04 of the quarterfinal match and defeated Brandon Waage of Badger-Greenbush/Middle River by technical fall 22-6 in the semifinals before meeting Mergen in the finals.

No 1 Huwe was the top seed in his bracket and defeated Tristan Larson, of Red Lake County Central, by fall at 3:10 in the quarters before winning a 1-0 semifinal decision over Bemidji's Wyatt Yoemans. Jacob Filk of Hutchinson denied Huwe the heavyweight title with a 5-0 decision in the finals.

Ortloff won his opening match of Jacob Bollig of Willmar in a 15-3 major decision, but lost a 6-4 decision to Isaak Isane of Badger-Greenbush/Middle River.

In wrestlebacks, Ortloff advanced with a 7-3 decision over Deer River's Jamal Baird.

Dylan Pundsack of Hutchinson defeated Ortloff 10-5 in the seventh place match.

United Clay Becker's Nick Wamre placed seventh at 182 defeating Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton's Ethan Johnson 8-3 in the seventh place match.

For full results and bracket breakdowns click here

Big Bear Team results


1. Hutchinson 168.5
2. West Central Area/Ashby/Evansville 152.5
3. Lakeville North 141.5
4. Aitkin 136.0
5. Badger/Greenbush-Middle River 134.5
6. Bemidji 129.0
7. Barnesville 123.0
8. Blackduck/Cass Lake-Bena 116.5
9. Big Lake 115.5
10. Thief River Falls 115.0
11. Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton 97.0
11. Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus 97.0
13. Park Rapids 93.5
14. Roseau 85.0
15. Detroit Lakes 78.5
16. Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale 78.0
17. Crookston 76.5
18. United North Central 75.5
19. MAHACA 73.5
20. Albany 59.5
21. Staples-Motley 57.0
22. Hibbing 56.5
23. Spectrum 51.0
23. Zimmerman 51.0
25. Holdingford 45.0
26. Mahnomen-Waubun 44.0
27. Deer River 41.0
28. Fosston-Bagley 36.0
29. Willmar 35.0
30. Fergus Falls 34.0
31. Red Lake County Central 23.0
32. Virginia 22.0
33. Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis 21.0
34. Crosby-Ironton 17.5
35. United Clay Becker 14.0
36. Wadena-Deer Creek 12.0
36. West Marshall 12.0


152 Results

1st Place – Parker Jackson of Detroit Lakes

2nd Place – Nick Mergen of Albany

3rd Place – Jerod Novak of Aitkin

4th Place – Alex Erpelding of Staples-Motley

5th Place – Casey Warner of Roseau


6th Place – Seth Anderson of Lakeville North

7th Place – Brandon Waage of BGMR

8th Place – Cody Dravis of Park Rapids

1st: Parker Jackson (Detroit Lakes) 12-0, . over Nick Mergen (Albany) 10-1, . (Dec 6-3).

3rd: Jerod Novak (Aitkin) 11-1, Jr. over Alex Erpelding (Staples-Motley) 12-2, So. (Dec 8-3).

5th: Casey Warner (Roseau) 12-2, Sr. over Seth Anderson (Lakeville North) 10-7, So. (Dec 9-3).

7th: Brandon Waage (BGMR) 7-4, Sr. over Cody Dravis (Park Rapids) 8-4, 8th. (Fall 2:18).



285 Results

1st Place – Jacob Filk of Hutchinson

2nd Place – James Huwe of Detroit Lakes

3rd Place – Drew Hawk of DGF

4th Place – Kieren Oksanen of Roseau

5th Place – Wyatt Yoemans of Bemidji

6th Place – Chris Baxter of Park Rapids

7th Place – Alex Settelmeyer of Barnesville


8th Place – Alec Gausman of Morris Area

1st: Jacob Filk (Hutchinson) 13-0, Sr. over James Huwe (Detroit Lakes) 6-3, . (Dec 5-0).

3rd: Drew Hawk (DGF) 9-3, Sr. over Kieren Oksanen (Roseau) 11-2, Sr. (Fall 4:53).

5th: Wyatt Yoemans (Bemidji) 9-4, Jr. over Chris Baxter (Park Rapids) 9-4, Jr. (Fall 5:58).

7th: Alex Settelmeyer (Barnesville) 15-6, Sr. over Alec Gausman (Morris Area) 10-4, . (Dec 7-1).


120 Results

1st Place – Brian Maas of Bemidji


2nd Place – Esteban Teigen of Spectrum

3rd Place – AJ Bethea of Hibbing

4th Place – Isaak Isane of BGMR

5th Place – Brady Tweeton of Barnesville

6th Place – Jamal Baird of Deer River

7th Place – Dylan Pundsack of Hutchinson

8th Place – Braydon Ortloff of Detroit Lakes

1st: Brian Maas (Bemidji) 9-1, Sr. over Esteban Teigen (Spectrum) 4-1, Jr. (MD 12-4).

3rd: AJ Bethea (Hibbing) 13-2, Fr. over Isaak Isane (BGMR) 11-4, Jr. (Dec 7-3).

5th: Brady Tweeton (Barnesville) 16-2, Fr. over Jamal Baird (Deer River) 12-3, Fr. (Fall 3:02).

7th: Dylan Pundsack (Hutchinson) 10-6, Jr. over Braydon Ortloff (Detroit Lakes) 11-4, . (Dec 10-5).


Robert Williams has been a sports editor for Forum Communications in Perham and Detroit Lakes since 2011.
What To Read Next
Get Local