Mid-State All-Conference wrestlers named

Senior Brody Ullyott named the conference's most valuable wrestler.

Detroit Lakes all-conference wrestlers. Front row, L-R: Carsen Wold, Tyson Ullyott, Thad Schlauderaff, Bradly Swiers, Cole Weber. Back row: Garett Nelson, Cade Jackson, Blaine Henderson, Andreas Barnett, Jeffery Moen, Brody Ullyott. Submitted photo

The Detroit Lakes wrestling team had 11 different wrestlers earn all-conference distinctions, including the most valuable wrestler.

Senior Brody Ullyott was named the Mid-State’s most valuable player, leading a group of six earning all-conference honors.

Tyson Ullyott, Bradly Swiers, Cade Jackson, Blaine Henderson and Andreas Barnett all were named to the all-conference team.

Cole Weber, Carsen Wold, Garett Nelson, Thad Schlauderaff and Jeffery Moen earned honorable mention.

Detroit Lakes finished the season with an excellent record of 20-4 reaching the Section 8AA semifinals, falling to the eventual section champions Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus.


Seniors Henderson and Ullyott represented Detroit Lakes at the Class AA state wrestling tournament after advancing through their respective brackets at the Section 7AA/8AA state preliminary tournament.

Brody Ullyott and Blaine Henderson both medaled at the Class AA state wrestling tournament at St. Michael-Albertville high school Friday, March 26.

Ullyott (29-4) followed up a 138-pound second place finish in 2020 with a third place medal at 145-pounds.

Henderson finished the year with an excellent record of 30-3 and placed fourth at state.

Detroit Lakes All Conference team:

126: Tyson Ullyott

132: Bradly Swiers

138: Cade Jackson


145: Brody Ullyott

170: Blaine Henderson

285: Andreas Barnett

Honorable Mention

120: Cole Weber

132: Carsen Wold

152: Garett Nelson

160: Thad Schlauderaff


220: Jeffery Moen

Other Mid-State Conference wrestlers

(Name, School, Weight)

Nathan Trotter, Aitkin, 113

Marshall Larson, Aitkin, 120

Carson Kullhem, Aitkin, 138

John Paul Fitzpatrick, Crosby-Ironton 138

Michael Fitzpatrick, Crosby-Ironton, 182


Robby Sherk, Park Rapids, 106

Owen Carlson, Pequot Lakes/Pine River Backus 126

Connor Tulenchik, Pequot Lakes/Pine River Backus, 170

Corbin Knapp, Pequot Lakes/Pine River Backus, 195

Easton Miller, Pequot Lakes/Pine River Backus, 113

Parker Zutter, Pequot Lakes/Pine River Backus, 106

Colbe Tappe, Staples- Motley 120-126

Logen Weite, Staples-Motley, 152-160


Read more stories by Robert Williams here .

Robert Williams has been a sports editor for Forum Communications in Perham and Detroit Lakes since 2011.
What To Read Next
Get Local