Mid-State, Heart O' Lakes all-conference boys basketball teams

Lakers Zack Oistad, Nate Cihak, Matthew Tobkin and Caeden Yliniemi earn conference distinctions.

MID (1).jpg
Four Detroit Lakes boys basketball players earned Mid-State Conference awards. L-R: Caeden Yliniemi, Matthew Tobkin, Zack Oistad, Nate Cihak. Submitted photo

Detroit Lakes senior center Zack Oistad and junior guard Nate Cihak were named to the Mid-State all-conference boys basketball team.

Aitkin’s Hunter Nissen was named the Player of the Year and Pequot Lakes’ Rich Spiczka was named the Coach of the Year.

Spiczka led the Patriots to a fourth straight conference championship winning the title outright with an undefeated mark of 9-0.

Pequot Lakes shared the 2020 title with Detroit Lakes and the 2019 championship with DL and Crosby-Ironton and split the top spot in 2018 with the Lakers.

Also named all-conference: Crosby-Ironton’s Dietrich Winegarner and Carsen Turk, Pequot Lakes' Sam Rysavy, Alex Morgan, Bode Magnuson and Eli Laposky, Park Rapids' Nick Michaelson and Logan Jackson and Staples-Motley’s Sivert Klefsaas.


Detroit Lakes junior Caeden Yliniemi and senior Matthew Tobkin were named all-conference honorable mention, along with Owen Hagen of Aitkin, Jordan Oehrlein of Crosby-Ironton, Ryan Monahan of Pequot Lakes and Max Strickland, Parker Harmon of Park Rapids and Isaiah Schultz of Staples-Motley.

Heart O’ Lakes all-conference boys basketball team

Barnesville - Adam Tonsfeldt, Kaden Zenzen

Breckenridge - Cooper Yaggie, Jonah Christensen, Anthony Conzemius

Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton - Owen Leach (MVP), Logan Bitker

Frazee - Jack Courneya, Broden Fleisher

Hawley - Hayden Grani

Pelican Rapids - McHale Korf, Logan Fahje, Jayden Rutherford


Perham - Finn Diggins, Elijah Morris.

Read more stories by Robert Williams here .

Robert Williams has been a sports editor for Forum Communications in Perham and Detroit Lakes since 2011.
What To Read Next
Get Local