Weather Forecast


No Mercy VIII May 19 in Mahnomen

Mixed Martial Arts is back with No Mercy VIII to be held Saturday, May 19 at Shooting Star Casino in Mahnomen with another night of action-packed fights.

Shooting Star has quickly become one of the top destinations for MMA in the midwest with a fantastic venue and fun-filled casino floor.  

The inaugural show took place there September 30 last year and was completely sold out.

This show promises more highlight reel finishes and plenty of fireworks.

Frazee’s Brian Heden, Driller heavyweight champion, takes on Bellator veteran Kevin Asplund in a title defense in the Main Event.

Heden is ranked No. 4 in the midwest and Is one of the top heavyweights outside of the UFC.

Another highly anticipated fight pits undefeated Casey Goulet (4-0, Brooks, Minnesota) taking on recent title challenger Dustin Klapperick (4-1) in a No. 1 Lightweight contender fight.

Longtime local veterans Butch “Mad Dog” Hajicek and Ben “The Real One” Wicks will square off in a long talked about fight sure to be entertaining for the local fans. This fight is personal.

Top Prospects Noah Landrus (3-0) from Aitkin, Jesse Wannemacher (3-2) from Fergus Falls and Jeremiah Harper (1-0) from New York Mills are all featured on the packed card as well.

No Mercy is a collaboration between Driller Fights and Chris Holt of Detroit Lakes and has continually brought the best of Midwest MMA to the surrounding communities in the region.

Doors open at 5 p.m. and fights start at 5:30 p.m.

Tickets start at $35 and are available at

Hotel rooms sell out fast so be sure to book your room immediately.

Current Fight Card


Kevin Asplund (18-11) vs Brian Heden Heavyweight 5 Round TItle Fight

Ben Wicks (4-15) vs Butch Hajicek (16-16)

Dino Sarracco (2-6) vs Nathan Vega Pro Debut


Dustin Klapperick (4-1) vs Casey Goulet (4-0 )Lightweight #1 Contender Bout,

Arkady Pichurin (2-1) vs Noah Landrus (3-0)

Gerald Rivera (1-1) vs Jeremiah Harper (1-0)

Nick Klein (1-0) vs Cody George (1-0)

Nick Joramo (2-3) vs James Norris (0-1)

Kyle Zimick (2-0) vs Andrew Yatskis (1-1)

Kaleb Mcauliffe (0-1) vs Jonathan Foldoe (0-1)

Also featuring Professionals Jesse Wannemacher and Scott Writz