Wrestling: Detroit Lakes splits Crookston triangular

Lakers fall to No. 5 West Central Area-Ashby-Brandon-Evansville before beating Crookston

Detroit Lakes Wrestling
Detroit Lakes Wrestling

CROOKSTON – The Detroit Lakes wrestling team split the Crookston triangular after facing the fifth-ranked Class A team in the state.

West Central Area-Ashby-Brandon-Evansville is one of the state’s top teams, according to The Guillotine. On Friday, they showed why in a 48-18 win over the Lakers.

Cade Jackson picked up an impressive 5-3 decision win over Anthony Sykora at 170-pounds. Sykora is the second-ranked wrestler in Class A in his weight class.

Bradly Sweirs (138) beat Hunter Gruchow by major decision (15-2) shortly after Zach Ruhl (132) edged out Shad Swanson by a 12-8 decision. Cade Okeson (152) picked up a major decision win (9-0) over Ezekiel Sieckert before Cale Abraham (160) beat Jeremy Blascyk 11-0.

Despite falling to WCA-A-B-E, the Lakers earned a split on the day with a 59-18 win over Crookston.


Mason Mallory (113), Leroy LaCrosse (120), Isaiah Vargas (126), Cole Weber (132), Tyson Ullyott (145), Connor Zamzo (195) and Jeffrey Moen (285) all picked up their first wins on the night. Swiers, Okeson and Jackson found wins in both matchups on Friday.


106: Owen Gruchow (WCAA) over Talan Baker (DL) (Fall 1:05); 113: Carter Lohse (WCAA) over Mason Mallory (DL) (Fall 3:08); 120: Adam Lohse (WCAA) over Everett Northup (DL) (Fall 1:56); 126: Mason Richter (WCAA) over LeRoy LaCrosse (DL) (Fall 2:53); 132: Zach Ruhl (DL) over Shad Swanson (WCAA) (Dec 12-8); 138: Bradly Swiers (DL) over Hunter Gruchow (WCAA) (MD 15-2); 145: Reubens Swanson (WCAA) over Tyson Ullyott (DL) (Dec 9-3); 152: Cade Okeson (DL) over Ezekiel Sieckert (WCAA) (MD 9-0); 160: Cale Abraham (DL) over Jeremy Blascyk (WCAA) (MD 11-0); 170: Cade Jackson (DL) over Anthony Sykora (WCAA) (Dec 5-3); 182: Beau Robinson (WCAA) over Marvelous Mai (DL) (Fall 1:18); 195: Will Rustan (WCAA) over Connor Zamzo (DL) (Fall 1:54); 220: Colton Lindquist (WCAA) over (DL) (For.); 285: Justin Blascyk (WCAA) over Jeffery Moen (DL) (Dec 8-2)


106 Evin Trudeau (CRK) over Talan Baker Pin 1:30; 113 Mason Mallory (DL) won by forfeit; 120 Leroy LaCrosse (DL) over Lucas Perala Pin 1:35; 126 Isaiah Vargas (DL) won by forfeit; 132 Cole Weber (DL) over Casey Weiland 15-6; 138 Bradly Swiers (DL) over Carter Coauette 3-1; 145 Tyson Ullyott (DL) won by forfeit; 152 Cade Okeson (DL) over Braxton Volker 11-2; 160 Cade Jackson (DL) over Spencer Ness Pin 1:54; 170 Cale Abraham (DL) over Layten Fuentes Pin 3:17; 182 Hunter Knutson (CRK) over Charlie zok Pin 2:48; 195 Conner Zamzo (DL) over Hunter Kresl Pin 2:40; 220 Ethan Boll (CRK) over Tynan Simpson Pin :43; 285 Jeffrey Moen (DL) over Jesse Sanchez Pin 2:17

Jared Rubado is the sports editor for the Detroit Lakes Tribune and the Perham Focus. He moved to the area in September of 2021 after covering sports for the Alexandria Echo Press for nearly three years. Jared graduated from the University of Augustana in 2018 with degrees in journalism and sports managment.
What To Read Next
Get Local