No. 8AA Detroit Lakes won 13 of 14 matches and wrapped up a regular season of 25 dual victories after defeating United Clay Becker 66-3 in a Section 8AA dual at Hawley high school Friday, Feb. 8.

According to head coach Rob Ullyott, the 25 dual victories is a school record. DL has recorded two 20+ seasons on the past decade, 20 last season and 22 in 2013.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Cade Okeson and Cade Jackson have been big all season in creating early leads for the Lakers and No. 8AA Okeson did that by fall over Jackson Mikkelson in the first period of the opening match at 106 pounds. Jackson followed suit at 113 pinning Zack Cole in one-minute, 53-seconds.

The Badgers’ lone victory came at 120 pounds in a close 3-2 Sam Helgeson victory over Bradly Swiers.

Brody Ullyott won a 1-0 decision over Garrett Peterson in the 126 pound match.

Blake Weber (132) and Cale Abraham (138) each had pins in less than a minute, 37 seconds for Weber and 31 seconds for Abraham.

Blaine Henderson (145) won by fall over Sanden O’Connell in 3:44. Garett Nelson (152) defeated Andrew Welti 6-3. Brennen Sather (160) recorded a major decision over Hunter Magnusson 10-2.

No. 2AA Isaiah Thompson (170) pinned Tanner Weyer late in the first period.

Nolan Mann (182) picked up a 4-3 decision over Carston Hamre.

No. 7AA 182-pounder Noah Olds wrestled up at 195 and defeated Bailey Johnson by technical fall 19-4.

UCB (12-6) was open at 220 and Charles Barnett polished off the victory with a 62-second pin of Wyatt Dunham.

DL finished the regular season with a dual record of 25-3.

The Section 8AA team championships will be held in Thief River Falls Saturday, Feb. 16. The Lakers will be seeded second behind four-time defending champions Perham.


Detroit Lakes 66, United Clay Becker 3

106: Cade Okeson (DL) over Jackson Mikkelson (UCB) by fall 1:35

113: Cade Jackson (DL) over Zack Cole (UCB) by fall 1:53

120: Sam Helgeson (UCB) over Bradly Swiers (DL) by Dec. 3-2

126: Brody Ullyott (DL) over Garrett Peterson (UCB) by Dec. 1-0

132: Blake Weber (DL) over Nathan Sperr (UCB) by fall :37

138: Cale Abraham (DL) over Xavier Strehlow (UCB) by fall :31

145: Blaine Henderson (DL) over Sanden O’Connell (UCB) by fall 3:44

152: Garett Nelson (DL) over Andrew Welti (UCB) by Dec. 6-3

160: Brennen Sather (DL)  over Hunter Magnusson (UCB) by Maj. Dec. 10-2

170: Isaiah Thompson (DL) over Tanner Weyer (UCB) by fall 1:50

182: Nolan Mann (DL) over Carston Hamre (UCB) by Dec. 4-3

195: Noah Olds (DL) over Bailey Johnson (UCB) by Tech Fall 19-4

220: Andrew Annette (DL) win by Forfeit

285: Charles Barnett (DL) over Wyatt Dunham (UCB) by fall 1:02