The Perham Yellowjackets continued their Section 8AA wrestling winning streak capturing a fifth straight team title and eliminating Detroit Lakes in the championship match for the third straight season Saturday, Feb. 15 at Ralph Engelstad Arena in Thief River Falls.

The top-seeded and No. 2A Jackets came out spirited grabbing nine points at 106 pounds and 113. DL’s Cade Okeson and Cade Jackson had been key in getting Detroit Lakes off to strong starts all year, but Perham’s Owen Werner and Blaze Brady gave the Jackets a 9-0 lead with a Werner pin and Brady 9-3 decision.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Perham's COLTON SATTER, DL'S FABYON GREER - Jason Groth / Forum News Service
Perham's COLTON SATTER, DL'S FABYON GREER - Jason Groth / Forum News Service

Bradly Swiers picked up big points for DL with a tight 2-1 decision over Blake Lorentz at 120 pounds to pull within a match trailing 9-3.

Hope was short-lived as Perham captured five straight matches getting bonus points in four to take command 33-3.

Brennen Sather and Isaiah Thompson stopped the run with back-to-back decisions and Andreas Barnett picked up a 7-1 decision at heavyweight.

Perham captured nine of 14 matches and scored bonus points in eight to win handily 48-12.

The Lakers lost only four duals all season, three of them to Perham. The only other loss came to No. 3AA Simley at home.

Perham and DL met in the last two 8AA title matches with Perham advancing 61-19 in 2017 and clinching last year’s championship in the final match 32-27.

The Lakers advanced quickly out of the morning quarterfinals Saturday in a 60-15 victory over DIlworth-Glyndon-Felton.

The Rebels were open at three weights and DL won eight of the remaining 11 matches.

Okeson opened with a decision, followed by Jackson with a 40-second pin and Swiers with a second period pin for a quick 15-0 lead.

Sather, Thompson, Noah Olds and Andrew Annette added wins by fall. Blaine Henderson picked up a 7-2 decision at 152 pounds.

HEAD COACH ROB ULLYOTT - Jason Groth / Forum News Service
HEAD COACH ROB ULLYOTT - Jason Groth / Forum News Service

Head coach Rob Ullyott adjusted his lineup to take out Thief River Falls in the semis 39-29.

The Prowlers Kyle Miller pinned Jacob Ehnert at 1:01 of the 160-pound match to give Thief River Falls a 23-17 lead.

Ehnert’s appearance allowed Sather to wrestle up at 170 and get a technical fall over Boen Miller to cut the Prowler lead to one point. Thompson followed suit wrestling up at 182 and pinned Collin Bruggeman in 23-seconds to erase the deficit and put DL in front 28-23.

Noah Olds followed with an 18-second pin of Kevin Jenson and Jordan Skadsem put the match on ice with a 17-1 tech fall over Mason Iverson.

DL’s team season closed with a program best 27 victories (27-4). The Lakers will shift to individual mindsets as the Section 8AA tournament enters its second weekend Feb. 22-23 in Hawley.

Five Lakers enter with state rankings: Okeson No. 9 at 106; Fabyon Greer No. 3 at 138; Thompson No. 2 at 170; Olds No. 7 at 182 and Skadsem No. 9 at 220.

The section champion and runner-up advance to the individual portion of the state meet.


Section 8AA Wrestling Championships

Finals: Perham 48, Detroit Lakes 12

106: Owen Werner(Perham) over Cade Okeson(DL) by fall 2:30

113: Blaze Brady(Perham)  over Cade Jackson(DL) by Dec 9-3

120: Bradly Swiers (DL) over Blake Lorentz(Perham)  by Dec 2-1

126: Gabe Bellefeuille(Perham) over Brody Ullyott(DL) Dec 6-4

132: Leighton Rach (Perham) over Blake Weber (DL) by tech fall 17-0

138: Colton Satter (Perham) over Fabyon Greer (DL) by maj dec 12-4

145: Jack Fudge (Perham) over Blaine Henderson (DL) by fall 4:10

152: Dylan Fudge (Perham) over Garett Nelson (DL) by fall 1:14

160: Brennen Sather (DL) over Matthew Bush (Perham) by Dec 3-2

170: Isaiah Thompson (DL) over Brian Ramos (Perham) by Dec 12-6

182: Zachary Peterson (Perham) over Nolan Mann (DL) by tech fall 22-7

194: TY Moser (Perham) over Noah Olds (DL) by Maj dec 11-3

220: Dawson Kellogg (Perham) over Andrew Annette (DL) by Fall 3:26

285: Andreas Barnett (DL) over Rowdie Lindquist (Perham) by Dec 7-1

Semifinals: Detroit Lakes 39, Thief River Falls 29

106: Cade Okeson (DL) over Kale Geiser (TRF) by Major dec 12-3

113: Griffin Lundeen (TRF) over Cade Jackson (DL) by dec 2-0

120: Bradly Sweirs (DL) over Cody Wienen (TRF) by Major dec 8-0

126: Brody Ullyott (DL) over Cody Sele (TRF) by dec 9-2

132: Cade Lundeen (TRF) over Blake Weber (DL) by dec 6-1

138: Fabyon Greer (DL) over Brandon Zuniga (TRF) by Fall 2:10

145: Jake Davis (TRF) over Blaine Henderson (DL) by Tech Fall 23-8

152: Cole Johnson(TRF) over Garett Nelson (DL) by Fall 2:10

160: Kyle Miller (TRF) over Jacob Ehnert (DL) by Fall 1:01

170: Brennen Sather (DL) over Boen Miller (TRF) by Tech Fall 16-0

182: Isaiah Thompson (DL) over Collin Bruggeman (TRF) by Fall 0:23

195: Noah Olds (DL) over Kevin Jenson (TRF) by Fall 0:18

220: Jordan Skadsem (DL) over Mason Iverson (TRF) by Tech Fall 17-1

285: Brenan Peralta (TRF) over Andreas Barnett (DL) by Fall 0:55

Quarterfinals: Detroit Lakes 60, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton 15

106: Cade Okeson (DL) over Brodie Strand  (DGF) by Dec 8-2

113: Cade Jackson (DL) over Colton Zutz (DGF) by fall :40

120: Bradly Swiers (DL) over Dawson Zutz by fall 2:56

126: Zander Jenson (DGF) over Carson Wold (DL) by fall 4:46

132: Blake Weber (DL) win by Forfeit

138: Jack Fuchs (DGF) over Cale Abraham (DL) by fall 1:24

145: Fabyon Greer (DL) win by Forfeit

152: Blaine Henderson (DL) over Cade Sogge (DGF) by Dec. 7-2

160: Carter Schmidt (DGF) over Garett Nelson (DL) by Dec. 4-3

170: Brennen Sather (DL) over Preston Johnson (DGF) by fall 1:25

182: Isaiah Thompson (DL) over Dylan Tabes (DGF) by fall 1:12

195: Noah Olds (DL) over Joey Kohler (DGF) by fall 1:04

220: Andrew Annette (DL) over Hunter Fischer (DGF) by fall 5:28

285: Charles Barnett (DL) win by Forfeit