No. 3AA Detroit Lakes began the season with a sweep on the road defeating the host Spuds and Fargo Davies at the Moorhead Triangular Thursday, Jan. 14.

The Lakers opened against Moorhead winning 12 of 14 matches in a 59-9 dual victory.

Seven match wins were by fall: Leroy Lacrosse (120), Tyson Ullyott (126), Cade Jackson (145), Brody Ullyott (152), Hunter Jorgensen (195) Jeffrey Moen (220) and Michael Friendshuh (285).

Izaiah Vargas (113), Carsen Wold (132), Bradly Swiers (138), Thad Schlauderaff (170) and Blaine Henderson (182) all picked up decisions.

DL used six pins to earn the sweep defeating Davies 42-33.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts

Henderson put the match away at 182 pounds defeating Muhaimn Al-Janabi with a first period fall to go up 42-15.

Davies recorded falls in the final three matches to tighten up the score.

Trailing 9-0 after the first two matches, Lacrosse, Tyson Ullyott and Wold gave the Lakers the lead for good 18-9 with three straight falls.

The Lakers won seven straight matches in the middle of the lineup with the next four wins coming by decisions from Swiers and Garret Nelson with falls from state-ranked Cade Jackson (No. 7AA) and Brody Ullyott (No. 2AA) in between at 145 and 152.

Detroit Lakes is back in action at Fergus Falls taking on the Otters and Crookston Tuesday, Feb. 19 at 5 p.m.

Detroit Lakes 59 Moorhead 9

106: Dane Ellingsberg (MHD) over Jared Ohm (DL) win by decision 8-6

113: Izaiah Vargas (DL) over Nolan Giddings (MHD) win by Major Decision 11-2

120: Leroy Lacrosse (DL) over Colton Vallager (MHD) win by Fall in 2:50

126: Tyson Ullyott (DL) over Lee Ellisberg (MHD) win by Fall in 1:50

132: Carsen Wold (DL) over Evan Fankhanel (MHD) win by Decision 8-7

138: Bradly Swiers (DL) over Arzheen Sahin (MHD) win by Decision 8-2

145: Cade Jackson (DL) over Will Borud (MHD) win by Fall in 0:46

152: Brody Ullyott (DL) over Kenneth Hanson (MHD) win by Fall in 1:25

160: Zack Fankhanel (MHD) over Garett Nelson (DL) win by Fall in 1:03

170: Thad Schlauderaff (DL) over Haqkon Peterson (MHD) win by Decision 13-9

182: Blaine Henderson (DL) over Jack Newcomb (MHD) win by Major Decision 16-2

195: Hunter Jorgensen (DL) over Ashton Larry (MHD) win by Fall in 1:48

220: Jeffrey Moen (DL) over Jackson Gotta win by Fall in 1:21

285: Michael Friendshuh (DL) over Zion Dyer (MHD) win by Fall in 5:29

Detroit Lakes 42, Fargo Davies 33

106: Abdi Nuur (FD) over Andy Bartnes (DL) win by Fall in 1:49

113: Wyatt Kosidowski (FD) over Izaiah Vargas (DL) Fall in 0:31

120: Leroy Lacrosse (DL) over Sajan Gurung (FD) win by Fall in 3:30

126: Tyson Ullyott (DL) over Liam Wicklow (FD) win by Fall in 1:43

132: Carsen Wold (DL) over Saylor Youngkendeh (FD) win by Fall in 1:51

138: Bradly Swiers (DL) over Malachi Werremeyer (FD) win by Decision 7-0

145: Cade Jackson (DL) over Sawyer Frie (FD) win by Fall in 3:55

152: Brody Ullyott (DL) over Kenneth Hanson (FD) win by Fall in 4:15

160: Garett Nelson (DL) over Ryan Barth (FD) win by Decision 6-0

170: Landon Allex (FD) over Thad Schlauderaff (DL) win by Decision 7-2

182: Blaine Henderson (DL) over Muhaimn Al-Janabi win by Fall in 0:43

195: Rylen Reid (FD) over Hunter Jorgenson (DL) win by Fall in 3:06

220: Truman Werremeyer (FD) defeated Jeffery Moen (DL) win by Fall in 1:21

285: Dylan Carlquist (FD) over Michael Friendshuh (DL) win by Fall in 5:29